poundlandprincess











{December 12, 2012}   SheSaidBeauty Decembers Box of Crap.

You can probably guess from my title that I’m not happy with my box this month. The box was late and because I’ve waited in everday for the parcel since the 4th December I wasn’t in the bestest of moods to begin with, their customer services could do with a shake up too. There are still several unanswered posts about missing boxes on their customer forums from several days ago yet complaints through Facebook are answered within the hour. Not everyone is on Facebook, not everyone wants to be either.

SheSaidBeauty costs £9 a month plus £2.95 p+p, you fill out a profile on registration, in which you tell SheSaidBeauty the kind of products you are interested in and ones you are not. You also fill out information about your hair colour, skin tone etc.

I thought this was for the purpose of customising the box, but I’ve since learnt from a SheSaidBeauty employee they don’t use the profiles in that way, products are selected at random and the profiles are for market research to send subscribers offers etc, that explains the influx of emails I’ve had since joining. If I had known this on registration I would not have filled out the bloody survey.  It also explains why people with fair skin get dark fake tan samples.  You are meant to receieve 5 “deluxe” samples each month, Im not sure if “deluxe” refers to the brand or size but either way its a fail.

I have zero interest in skincare, I’m happy with what I use and if I mess about trying other stuff I usually break out. I joined primarily for make-up items ( the only category I checked as very interested in) and whilst I dont expect a box full of of make-up I do expect variety.  I have recieved 15 plus samples from my three boxes and out of these only two have been make-up items and the rest has been mostly skincare.

I caved and had a sneek peek at the products on offer and I was pretty excited as there was a couple of make-items and coloured contacts, I wrongly assumed that I’d get at least one in my box. From reading the reviews it seems that a lot of people who want skincare have gotten the cosmetics and vice versa.

I’ve rambled on enough, I am cancelling my subscription as out of my three boxes costing over £30 I’ve only had one product that I’ve actually used on a regular basis, whilst others may be happy with thier boxes, its just not for me and that £30 could have been well spent on products I actually want.  I may try another subscription service, Im still undecied. Sorry for the rant, here’s what I got in my box.

BaoBab Regenerating and Firming Body Oil. £35 for 100ml.This is a decent sample size of 30ml oil is something I very rarely use

Minvita BaoBab Regenerating and Firming Body Oil. £35 for 100ml.
This is a decent sample size of 30ml oil is something I very rarely use becaue I hate the feeling of it on my skin. For those who like this kind of thing its a decent enough amount of product to give a proper trial.

111220122337

Dr Duve Skin Boosting Cream – £129 for 50ml
Dr Duve Anti Ageing and Firming Eye Cream – £115 for 30ml
These two tiny sachets make up two of my five items. If had that kind of money to spends on creams, there is no way I would do so based on using these two sachets. Its kind of an insult that these have counted as two products.

YaNa Kiss Savon Noir - £10 for 400gDont be fooled by the paper tied up with string, beyond that is a little clear tub, like the ones you get dips in from takeaways, I get bad reactions from soaps so avoid it, the smell of this is not to great either, my Daughter describes it as "rhubarb erupting from a volcano"

YaNa Kiss Savon Noir – £10 for 400g
Dont be fooled by the paper tied up with string, beyond that is a little clear tub, like the ones you get dips in from takeaways, I get bad reactions from soaps so avoid it, the smell of this is not to great either, my Daughter describes it as “rhubarb erupting from a volcano” There is no product information on the packaging so Im not sure what size this sample is, or what ingredients it has.

111220122336

Technic Nail Polish – Tawny Port – £1.25 for 12ml
The last of my five items is a nail polish, its the only full sized product in the five items. I have nothing against the brand Technic and I already own several products from this brand including nail polish, but I have seen this particular polish on sale for 50p so I assumed it to be a dud. I gave it a quick swatch and once it was dried it chipped straight away, the colour is like dozens I have already so this will be going into my little sisters stocking.

Technic Nail Polish.  Chipping started a few mins after drying.

Technic Nail Polish.
Chipping started a few mins after drying.

111220122338

Amie Spring Clean Cooling Clay Mask. Full Sized 15ml Sachet £1.50
Jing Whole Leaf Teabags £5.40 for 15 bags or £30 for 100
Because these are bonus items I don’t like to moan about them but to be honest, its freezing here in the UK and I wont be putting anything cooling on my face anytime soon. I’ll prob use this in the Spring when its a warmer climate, or pack for my Spanish holidays.
I have had green tea before and almost vomitted my lunch up so these will be passed on, if I can find someone who likes them.

Its Good To Talk .....

et cetera
