poundlandprincess











{October 22, 2012}   Nails Of The week #6 – including Breast Cancer Awareness.

Products Used.

Essie Fill The Gap Base Coat – £3 in The Original Factory Shop.

Rimmel Lycra Pro – Black Pearl – £1 in Poundland.

Sinful Colors – Aqua – £1 in Poundland.

Sinful Colors – Scandal – £1 in Poundland.

Essie Mod Squad – £3 in The Original Factory Shop.

Missguided – Misstifu (free with glamour magazine.)

Sally hansen Extreme Wear – Pink Boa – £1 in Poundland.

NYC -MoMa – £1 in The Original Factory Shop.

Rimmle Lycra Pro – Violet Metal – £1 in Poundland.

Rimmel Lycra Pro – Midnight Blue £1  in Poundland.

Attitude Matte Top Coat – £4.50 from Ebay.

Sally Hansen Mega Shine – £3 in The Original Factory Shop.

Black Pearl.

I asked my husband what colour he thought I should do my nails and he gave black as a half arsed reply so after applying my Essie Base Coat (I must get another bottle soon as this is almost half empty) I applied a coat Rimmel’s Black Pearl.  The formula is great and was opaque in two thin coats, I love the big wide brush which allowed me to cover each nail evenly in two strokes. It dried true to what it appears in the bottle with blue and silver micro shimmer which looks amazing when caught in the light.  Black Matte seems to be a bit of a trend at the moment so being the sheep that I am I applied a coat of my new Attitude Matte Top Coat and waited for the transformation, and waited, nothing happened. I’m assuming the Rimmel’s anti-fade colour system does it job well so I applied another Matte top coat and noticed some transformation. The whole lot dried to unsmudgeable levels within ten mins. Less than 12 hours later and this is the condition of the polish, lots of tip wear, is it possible the Matte finish gives less protection? I have worn this polish before and it lasted several days.

Aqua.

I have read a lot of nice things about this polish so when I spotted it in Poundland I snapped it up. I applied it over my Essie base coat, the brush is very thin, which I don’t really like as it takes a lot of strokes to cover my nail, for a small brush it picks up a lot of product which made application tedious as I was continuosly wiping off excess polish.

The first coat was pretty sheer and streaky, I had a lot of visible brush strokes and felt like giving up and removing the whole lot. I didn’t though and boy am I glad as the second coat brought this to life. It dried true to the colour in the bottle and although you can see slight brush strokes I think it adds depth.

The shine on this is amazing too however it took forever to try and I mean forever, I had pretty nails when I went to bed by which time the polish had had a good four hours to dry and this is what my right hand looked like when I woke.

Big Sinful Fail, its a shame as I love the colour.

Midnight And Metal.

I fancied dark nails today and Im still trying to work through my untrieds so I painted three fingers in Midnight Blue and two in Violet Metal.  I then used my Salon Express Stamping Kit to stamp a zebra type pattern over the Violet Metal nails using the Midnight Blue Polish which you cant quite see in image.

Midnight Blue has a gorgeous dark blue shimmer which I could not pick up with my camera due to the weather being lame, its not as black as it seem, its a lovely colour, you’ll just have to trust me. As you can see though I had slight tip wear within a few hours. I’m not having much polish luck this week. :( Lovely wide brush made application easy and polish just right consistancey, two coats for perfection.

Violet Metal needed three coats but since I knew I was stamping over it I only applied two, slighty watery that Midnight Blue but still easy to work with.

Pink Madness.

This is my breast cancer awareness mani. i had trouble choosing a pink so I just used them all. I painted each finger ina different polish. I used three coats on each nail but some could have done with more to be honest.

From Pinkie to Thumb **Missguided, Misstify, –Essie, Mod  Squad, — NYC,MoMa — Sinful Colors, Scandal — Sally Hansen Extreme Wear, Pink Boa**

Sadly there is nothing extreme about the Extreme Wear! very watery and it chipped as soon as it dried…

Pretty crap nails this week. Hopefully next weeks will be better.

Sinful Colors are the worst! They are so streaky. Matte polish does chip faster than glossy.



Yeah, I have about six or so now and each one I bought because I love the colour and have not seen anything similar, and they are more miss than hit.
Wish I’d known about the Matte before I bought the top coat. I need to get into the habit of reading reviews BEFORE I purchase things and not afterwards.



Its Good To Talk .....

et cetera
