poundlandprincess











{October 17, 2012}   Nails Of The Week #5

Its more a nails of the fortnight post as I’ve been in Spain on honeymoon. I only took a small amount of polishes as I knew I would not really have much time to mess about with my nails whilst away. Here goes.

Products Used.

Essie Fill The Gap Base Coat – £3 from The Original Factory Shop.

NO7 Stay Perfect in Nougat,French Tip White and Clear – Part of Manicure set from Ebay.

Essie – To Buy Or not To Buy – £3 from The Original Factory Shop.

Rimmel Lasting Finish – Purple Pulse – £1.99 in Local Chemist.

Rimmel Lasting Finish – Misty Jade – £1.99 in local chemist.

Rimmel Lasting Finish – Tangy Orange – £1.99 in local chemist

Rimmel Lycra Matte Finish – Reduced to £1.14 in Tesco.

Sally Hansen Mega Shine – £3 in The Original Factory Shop.

Misty Jade.

I wore this polish to fly out with, its a recent purchase and I thought its a lovely bright for sunny weather. I got several days out of this before it started to chip, simple even two coat application.  I also wore this to fly home with but used my Rimmel Matte finish top coat, sorry no pics so you will just have to trust me that it looked great, however  after one day, it totally peeled off my ring finger and because it was not in my hand luggage I looked like a right wazzock handing my passport over with a bare ring finger.

Tangy Orange.

Another bright sunny colour, this applied evenly in three coats, lasted well and only had minor tip wear when I removed a few days later. I didn’t allow sufficient drying time so it dented a little during the night.

Rimmel and Essie.

I originally applied Essie’s To Buy Or Not To Buy, this has a visible shimmer in the bottle which sadly vanished on application, even the bright Spanish sun could not pick it up, the polish itself was watery and pretty tricky to apply, I applied three coats and still had slight visible nail line,I apllied my Mega Shine top coat and left it as it was for a few days, I hoped for chipping but noooo, so I added a few dots in “Purple Pulse” around the edges of every nail.

Purple Pulse.

This is the only dark polish I brought with me and I love it, it only took two coats and I applied my Rimmel Matte Finish, I was very happy with the results but sadly dented it with my tweezers, I was gonna reapply but decided to make lots of dents. We went crazy golfing the next day and my daughter said my nails looked like a golf ball. Again, no chipping.

Plain Jane.

I wanted something simple on my return and decided to have another go at a French Manicure, this time I used the polish that came with my manicure tool, the Nougat base coat was a nightmare to apply, very watery and streaky, I ended up applying five coats in total, however I do like the finished colour, the white tip polish was super easy to apply and I like how its not an “in your face” white. I have had this on for three days now and its still perfect. I have had lots of lovely comments on these nails, I still need a lot of practice getting the tips straight though, once I get the wtips nailed Im gonna try it with darker colours.

Its Good To Talk .....

et cetera
