poundlandprincess











{October 2, 2012}   I Got Married Yesterday And Octobers She Said Beauty Box – Fail :(

First up is my nails from Monday 1st October.  I did want to talk at lengh about them but my first ever She Said Beauty Box Arrived this morning and I want to show you all the contents. Here are yesterdays nails , can you notice anything different?

I wanted a nude nail and swatched dozens of poilshes before setting on Maybelline Forever Strong in Nude Rose. I paid £1 for this in The Original Factory Shop. I painted these on sunday night and the photo was taken ten mins ago, no chips at all. Did you spot the Wedding ring? Yesterday my partner of 12 years and I got married. Nothing big or fancy, just us, our Daughter and two witnesses at the local registry office followed by a bar meal. Perfect.

Now The Beauty Box. This is the first box I have recieved and I did a lot of research before choosing a box to subscribeto  and after reading a review on septembers box by another wordpresser I decided to go with it. The box is £9 a month plus p+p of £2 something. They emailed yesterday to say the box had been dispatched and it arrived this morning so I cant fault delivery. I was so excited, it felt like a little wedding gift to myself :)

Lovely nice pink box – good start. Dissappointment starts to set in as box not very heavy.

A box inside a box.

More Packaging. excitment building up.

Now may be the time to mention that when you first subscribe you fill out a profile survey do-dah in which you let them know which kind of products interest you and which dont , the only two items which I have no use for are skin and hair care products so imagine my face to find these lurking under the tissue paper.

A box full of skin and hair care samples.

Baby sized Samples

Not only was the box full of skin and hair care samples but they were all tiny tiny samples and only one full sized product worth a whopping 99 pence. I don’t actually mind the odd skincare sample but a box full of them lack variety, one make up or nail item would have been nice.  I’m not sure these specific brands but a lot of brands offer the foil sachet samples for free so I feel slighty robbed. The good thing about this service is that you can cancel at any time and if next months box is the same then I will be doing just that. The box will come in handy though. Here are my products in a bit more detail.

B.Liv Off With Those Heads – Sample Size 3ml.
For the full size products it costs $49 for 30 ml or $63 for 45ml. This product claims to easily remove stubborn black and whiteheads while reducing oil secretion to prevent future outbreaks. Code incuded for discount on full purchase.

Cellnique Advanced Bio Renewal Mask – Sample Size 3ml.
According to the blurb the full sized product is $50 for 50 grams. Its formulated using a complex of fresh fruit enzymes and acids.Basically it cleanses and exfoiliates. I’m dubious as to if the sample is even enough to cover my face. Discount code included.

Kerastraight Moisture And Protein Masks – A 10 ml sachet of each.
Claims to smooth and renew hair from the inside out, cutting down day to day maintaining time. Full product costs £25 for 100ml which I would purchase if it produced good results but probably only enough product for one use so not enough to make an informed descision so I shall stick with the mask I currently use.

Biao Beauty Rejuvenating Night Cream – Sample size 2ml sachet.
Claims to have triple acting properties that protect agaisnt aging (dont they all) and reveal youthful and more luminous skin tone. Again not enough sample to make an informed decision. Full size product costs $24.50 for 118ml with free shipping, a 20 percent

discount code included.

Harbacin Wuta Kamille Hand Cream – Full sized 20ml product worth £0.99
Claims to contain a wealth of natural ingredients to protect your hands from all weather conditions. Cute little product for the handbag, I do suffer from dry hands regulary but find my usual hand cream does the trick, but I do think this will be the only product I actually use as I can take this out with me.

This months “treat” is 30 days worth of My Vitamins Total Acai Berry capsules.
Many different vitamins in range and full price starts at £2.49 for 30 capslues. My Sample claims to help the body reduce oxidative stress and remove harmful toxins such as environmental pollutants. Now Im the kind of person who does not like taking medication and as “natural” as these may be it still feels like taking medicine..

So what do you think? Am I wrong to be dissappointed with my first ever beauty box?  The only product/sample of any use to me is worth 99 pence. My little girl will love the straw however.

I’ve always been tempted to try this!
Thanks for the post!
http://www.fashionforlunch.wordpress.com/



bubblegumandpink says:

I had to comment on this, we have indeed had the very same experience.
You’re not wrong to feel the way you do, this months box was a rip off and I am quite upset I spent money on it..and did you know the vitamin tablets were just a thrown in treat?! So usually you wouldn’t even get that, REALLY annoying.

Are you going to be sticking with the box? I think I will give it a second go and hope they make up for this months box next month! I don’t even think this months box covered the 11.95!!!

x



I think I will give it one last go, I just know that if I unsubscribe then the next box will be the best ever. Thats just my luck.
I bought instlye and marie claire magazines this month which came to less than £8 and I got bigger and better
value samples in those.



I also meant to add £11.95 may not seem a lot to some and i know some people subscribe to lots of boxes but I can only afford the one and when I think of what I could have bought on the highstreet for that money I get a bit mad.
It would not have been so bad had they provided enough of any of the samples see any results, so of the full size prices are high and Im not gonna buy them based on a 2grm samples.



First off- Congratulations! “A life of years, free of tears! Bottoms up and lots of luck!”
Secondly- Ugh! I subscribe to Birch Box and I am so disappointed. It is rare I get a great product. For $10 (US) a month, I should be getting something good! I did get my first Glossy Box. They started in Europe.,It is double the price, but I got two full size products and samples in the first shipment.



Thank You, if I remember rightly it was your blog where I said I bet I get a box of crap? Being right sucks sometimes,
I think I shall look into the Glossy Box.



Waiting for my second box. I will let you know.



Pixie Dust and Fairytales says:

Congratulations!!! I just saw this! x



Thank you so very much.



Sophie says:

Congratulations on getting married! I was so disappointed with my October box – just reviewed if you want to check it out xxx

http://ileftmyheartinmiami.blogspot.co.uk/



Soory for late reply, somehow your comment ended up in the spam. I’ve just had a look at your blog and I would have rather had the body lotion you got. I’ve since tried the black head lotion and it seems to work but sample size is really too small to make a good decision.



Its Good To Talk .....

et cetera
