poundlandprincess











{September 27, 2012}   September Favourites/Reviews.

Hi everyone, just thought I would share with you some of the products I have been loving this month. All of these items are still available to purchase at the outlets I have mentioned.

Essie –  Fill The Gap Base Coat – £3 in The original Factory Shop (They also have a two for £5 offer)

Being a polish novice I knew  knew nothing of the Essie brand at the time I purchased this and only did so because the one I had ordered from the Avon was running late. The fact that this one claimed to fill ridges impressed me. The base coat is a neutral beige colour which drys to invisible with one coat or just a hint of colour on the second coat, the brush is a little thin and it takes three stokes to cover my nails evenly. I find the brush picks up to much product which initially made it difficult to work with but once you get the hang of it its great. What has really impressed me about this product is its drying time, it takes seconds. I have been using this everyday and my Avon one is sat on the shelf neglected, I can see it emptying so I will be repurchasing soon in case I cant find it when it runs out.

Sally Hansen Mega Shine Extended Wear Top Coat – £3 in The Original Factory Shop.

I love the Sinful Colors polishes and have collected about half a dozen, so far I have only worn about four but I have been dissappointed with how quickly they chip. Its shouldn’t be a big issue as I usually change my polish everyday but these didn’t even make it to lucnhtime and I’m not partuclary heavy handed with my nails. I absolutley love they shades they put out though so I thought I would try some kind of top coat to see if that helps them last any longer, I popped to The Factory Shop (Its a curse having that bloody thing so close) and saw this Sally Hansen product. Along with the claims of providing shine it also claimed to be chip resistant and I usually like the range and this did not dissappoint. Prior to purchasing this I used to apply a clear varnish and it seemed to take forever to dry. This dries to touchable quality very quickly and I have found myself reaching for it almost every time I do my nails. You can apply this to wet or dry polish and also to an old manicure to freshen it up. the only thing I really do not like is the opaque bottle, I like to see how much product I have left and you cant do that with this. I will repurchase if its still in stock when I run out.

Urban Decay – Naked – 36 Euros at Duty Free.

I never understood the fuss about the Urban Decay Palettes, after all eyeshadow is eyeshadow right? My fiance bought me this on our return flight from Spain in August, there is something about foreign currency that does not feel like real money if that makes sense, anyway this product is amazing, you can create so many different looks from ranging from natural daytime to sexy smokey and when you divide 36 by 12 (the amount of shadows in the palette) it works out at great value, three euros per shadow. I pay more than that for some drugstore products. The shadows apply and feel like silk and Ive not had any trouble with fallout from the darker shades like a lot of reviewers have. the lasting quality is second to none, my eyes look like they have just been made up after twelve hours wear. The primer that comes with is not much cop in my opinion, I wore my shadows without it and it didnt make any difference, I do like the brush that is supplied and Im keen to try more brushes from the Urban Decay range. Its highly unlikely that I will ever use all the shadows up but if I did I would repurchase in heartbeat. Im already considering Naked 2 and I hope I get lucky and see it at the duty free when I return to Spain in a few weeks.

 17 BB Balm – £6.99 – Boots

My initail review on this product didn’t paint it in a good light but I did say I would stick with it as the packaging promised better skin in four weeks.  I am prone to redness on my face and I am now noticing that its not as visible and my skin tone is much much more even. All I need to use now is a light coverage foundation or tinted moisturiser and its enough to hide the tiny bit of redness that is left. Sadly my pores have not reduced in appearence but I am more than happy with the results I have had. I have used this almost daily since I purchased and I still have well over half a tube left. This is something that is a certain repurchase.

Avon Eyelash Curlers – £1.50 Brochure 14 (usually £5)

I have  had my eyes on these since I started getting the Avon brochures a few months ago but I could not justify spending £5 on a peice of plastic. In the last brochure they were on offer at £1.50 per set so I ordered two. I love the shape of these and they are much more easier to use than the metal variety,  the design of these enable you to get right at the root of your lashes without nipping your skin, ( something which always happened to me) they give a good natural curl that lasts, my only bug is that the curlers touch your lids so Id reccomend curling before you apply any other eye make-up. There is a spare pad included in the handle so one set should last a long time, I’m glad I bought two and would be happy to pay £5 in future.

GHD Hair Straighteners.  Available from £99 and from various outlets.

I have had these straighteners for over three years now and my love affair with them is still going strong. The model I have is the IV styler which is the medium sized plate, I have thin hair and these work really well on me, if you have short hair then the smaller model would be best for you and if you have thick hair then the wider model would be best suited to your hair.

Before I bought these, I struggled and struggled with various cheaper brands, which would drag through my hair and were not really enjoyable to use, they would also take forever to heat up. The GHD’s Heat up in 11 seconds, there is no heat adjustment but this has never been a problem for me, the irons glide through my hair with ease leaving it looking straight and silky, the whole process takes less than 15 minutes. My style would hold until I needed to wash ( longest has been 3 days) without needing to redo, even after sleeping.  Its possible to create curls and waves but its not something I have yet managed to do. I use a heat protecting spray and maybe a little hairspray after styling and thats it as I dont like to overload my hair product as it becomes greasy. If you decide to purchase a set of these please please make sure you do so froma licensed seller as there are so many unsafe fake copies flying around out there. Its easy to do you simply visit the GHD website and type in your postcode etc and they will give you a list of official sellers. If you buy from ebay ask the seller for authenication number and check on GHDs website who will tell you if it is a genuine pair.

producthoochie says:

I have the Naked 2 palette and I love it! They also put out the Vice palette and it will be mine!



ooooh I’m going to have to look that up I think.



Aly says:

Love your posts…Great products…~ Thanks for this post!.
I am always looking for tips about eyelashes, mascara, as I have really such super straight lashes and when a curl lasts makes my eyes look bigger and gorgeous..

I so love sharing with others about great products I have tried ~ The best ever“ eyelash curler I have ever found is the Hot Lashes eyelash curler, makeup Artist kit. Loved the reviews on Amazon and was impressed. There is also a site of the same name Hot Lashes.com.

This curler is exactly like the gold Shu Uemura curler with a sturdy 24K gold plated curler and this small pink heater base. Keeps my straight lashes curling till the next day….and no crimp, only a curl..I so HTH~



Its Good To Talk .....

et cetera
