poundlandprincess











{September 24, 2012}   Nails Of The week #3

Products Used.

Sally Hansen Cuticle Remover Gel – £1.99 B&M’s

Revlon Colorstay – Always Romantic – £1 for two in Poundland.

Rimmel Lasting Finish Pro – Purple Rain – £1 in Poundland.

Essie – Case Study – £3 – The Original Factory Shop.

Essie – Carry On Essies – Orange, its Obvious  – Two for £5 in The Factory Shop.

Technic – Carnival – 89 pence in Boyes.

Revlon Dark Pleasures – Talk Dirty – £1 in Poundland.

Revlon Top Speed – Cloud – £1 in Poundland

Revlon – Sunshine Sparkle – £1 In Poundland

Revlon – Blue Lagoon – £1 in Poundland

Claire’s Accessories Glitter Polish – Blue, Green – £6 for six mini bottles.

Essie Fill The Gap Base Coat – £3 – Original Factory Shop.

Sally Hansen Mega Shine Top Coat – £4 – Original Factory Shop.

Total Cost This Week =£29.88

Always Romantic. (17th Sept)

We didnt get finished painting our living room until 11pm on Monday evening and I was dog tired but the chips in my Essie – Navigate Her were driving me so potty and I had to remove it, I should have left well alone as I knew I didnt have time to allow polish to dry but I ignored myself and quickly applied my Essie base coat (this drys in seconds its amazing) and painted on a coat of Revlons Colorstay Always Romantic, its a lovely red/brown colour. I chose the colorstay as it always lasts ages on me, I end up removing because I am bored, not because of chipping. Its a thick jelly type formula which applies quickly and easily. The first coat dried and I hopped into bed thinking I’d get another coat on in the morning, sadly I was running late and got straight into the decorating and my polish chipped before I could take a photo, you must need two coats to get a longer lasting mani….. Is it bad that I feel like repainting them just to take a photo? I dont like the blank spot lol.

Purple Rain. (18th Sept)

Due to the turps and other painting chemicals from yesterday my cuticles were pretty dry, whilst in B & M looking for a rug my husband noticed Sally Hansen’s Cuticle Remover Gel and put it in the basket for me, how good is he? so after using this, I applied a coat of my Essie Base Coat follwed by two coats of Rimmels Purple Rain. This is a very deep dark purple jelly formula which my Daughter describes as “undead”. I think I should have applied a third coat but again it was late and I was tired..

Case Study (19th Sept)

Depressingly Purple Rain had chipped badly on several nails by lunchtime which dissapointed me as its supposed to be a long wearing polish, the bottle claims up to ten days, I narely got ten minutes,  anyway I removed it and applied Sally Hansens Quick Care Strenghtening Treatment as my nails are becoming brittle, followed by two thin coats of Essie’s Base Coat, then two coats of Essie’s Case Study and a coat of Essie’s Instant Dry Oil Protecter. It dries much darker than it appears in the bottle but I still like it. It reminds me of melted milk chocolate – yummy. I hope I get a few days out of this as I like it so much.

Talk Dirty and Carnival (20th September)

My Case study is still going strong today which impresses me as they took quite a battering today. The end of decorating my home and giving each room a good clean is starting to come to an end. Still a lot to do but the light is at the end of the tunnel now. I cant believe how much crap is in this house, just random bits of junk and sentimental stuff. I’ve had to be ruthless and bin it which required two skip trips with another two planned tomorrow.

The nails – I have found that painting my nails helps me relax, my fiance thinks Im bonkers painting my nails so late at night but some relax with a glass of wine, for now, adding colour to my nails cheers me up, as it was late I didnt want to remove Case Study so I applied a coat of Talk Dirty, which I knew from swatching is sheer on its own.  Applied over Case Study it turns a very dark brown, in the bottle you can see a gold shimmer which dissapointingly does not show up the nails in any kind of light, they didn’t look quite right and I was going to remove and start from scratch but then I added two coats of Carnival. Whilst in the bottle it looks jam packed with glitter its actually awkward getting it onto the brush, its also tricky to get the glitter to apply evenly so I had to poke the brush around quite a bit which I didnt actually mind as I found it theraputic. I’m a weird one right? Topped off with a coat of Sally Hansens Mega Shine. The colours in this reminds me of fairgrounds but with the brown underneath I think of Autumn and bonfire night and fireworks. If your gonna use Carnival I suggest being near an open window as the odour is stronger than most polishes. Im still not sure I like it but I cant be arsed removing glitter at this time of night so its staying for the day at least.

I did enjoy arranging my polishes onto a shelf I managed to clear, its nice to walk into my room and look at them all neatly lined up :)

 Pretty Pastels. – (21st September)

The amount of work that is still in the to do has really got to me today, I could see the end yesterday and thought I’d be finished today but there was a lot more to do than I originally thought. How much crap can house hold? A lot. I bought two new polishes today in an effort to cheer myself up but it when it came to painting my nails I decided they were too dark, (Essie – Orange Its Obvious and Carry On) I wanted something that would help lift my mood and I’m trying to work my way through my whole polish collection, we are also going to a local fete tomorrow. I liked my spotted manicure from last week so I decided to do another, I began with Sally Hansens Strenghtening Treatment and two coats of Essie’s Base coat, this time I chose Revlon’s Cloud, Blue Lagoon and Sunshine Sparkle, all nice cheerful happy names,  then added contrasting dots using a bobby pin. They are no where near as neat as I would have liked but they shall have to do. All of these polishes required three coats as its quite a sheer watery formula, I find this with a lot of revlon polishes and it took forever to dry, its almost midnight and they are still wet after applying at ten pm. Im going to have sheet prints on them in the morning :) They may look a bit naff to others but I actually quite like them, kind of reminds me of those hand-made quilted blankets, which I love.

Did you spot my mistake? I meant to put blue dots on the lilac nails, if anyone noticed they were polit enough not to say :)

Add a Bit Of Glitter – (22nd September)

Had a lovely day today at the local fete/fair event. My little girl won a heap of prizes on the tombolas, it wasn’t really a suprise as she is always lucky with things like that, we all had a lie down on the sofas when we got back and watched old episodes of One Foot In The Grave.  Its been a really relaxing day, I love days like this. Because I didn’t want too much faff I decided leave my nails as they are and just add a few extra dots with different colours to correct my mistake and I then added a coat of Claire’s purple and green glitter polish followed by Sally Hansens Mega Shine top coat, I’m not to happy with the glitter but my Daughter chose it and so it will stay, everytime I look down at my hands I’m reminded what a fantastic family I have.

Half And Half – (23rd September)

Sundays are my favourite days for painting my nails. Its the day where I carry out all my little rituals like shave my legs, tweeze my eyebrows and such. I have much more time to spend painting my nails on a Sunday so I like to try and make them a bit more dramtic. On looking at the large tree outside my window you can see the leaves starting to turn brown and orange and its those two colours which inspired my choice of colours which are  Essie  in shades Orange,Its Obvious and Carry On. I painted each nail in alternating colours and then allowed it to dry completley, I then painted the top half of each nail in opposite colours.

The Orange was the easiest to apply and the Carry On was a bit of a nightmare, the brush is a lot thinner and the formula is quite watery so it made streaks, you couldn’t really judge how much product you had your brush so as you can see I made a bit a bit of a mess, saying that I do like the effect of this and its a technique that I will certainley use with other combinations of colours. I will make sure to use tape for a neater line though, my freehand version is a bit messy..

Im stuck choosing a favourite this week as I like the Case Study and Half and Half, what do you think?

whatthenail says:

I love Case Study! I also really liked your polka dots and when you put glitter on them it made them look like a watercolor painting. Your half and half mani is super cute too!



Hey! Just nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award! It’s a good tool to get readership up.



Its Good To Talk .....

et cetera
